Alberta Wheat Takes Over CWRC Hosting Duties

by | Nov 9, 2020 | Cereals

The Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) has taken over from the Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission (Sask Wheat) as the host of the Canadian Wheat Research Coalition (CWRC), the CWRC says in a news release on Nov. 9.

CWRC’s operational hosting duties rotate every three years between the three Prairie commissions. AWC will be in charge of administrative functions such as accounting services, research funding coordination, communications including website updates and annual reports, and other responsibilities such as planning and coordinating CWRC’s Annual General Meeting, the release notes.

There has also been a new executive appointed. The new chair is Fred Greig from the Manitoba Crop Alliance (MCA), vice-chair is Jake Leguee with Sask Wheat, and treasurer Jason Lenz with AWC, the release says. Lauren Comin, the director of research with AWC has been appointed CWRC president.

The CWRC facilitates a collaborative approach to producer support of regional and national wheat research in variety development and agronomy, the release notes.