Dan Wright new CSTA president


Dan Wright is the new president of the Canadian Seed Trade Association (CSTA). Wright becomes the association’s 66th  president.

Wright has served on the board of directors for two years and on the executive for three years. He has a strong connection to agriculture, a foundation that was laid in childhood at his family’s cash crop farm and farm equipment dealership.

Wright continued that connection in his career, and has worked for Monsanto Canada since 2000. His roles have included licensing manager, marketing manager and business development manager. Currently, he is the Canada corn and soybean portfolio lead, which includes introducing new traits and the expansion of corn and soybeans in Western Canada. All of these roles have provided Wright with the opportunity to work with farmers and agriculture industry stakeholders in all regions of Canada.

Wright will guide an active board of directors in their endeavour to foster seed innovation and engage with members. The board includes: Todd Hyra, SeCan, 1st vice-president; Georges Chaussé, La Coop Fédérée, 2nd vice-president; Brent Derkatch, Canterra Seeds, past president; Doug Alderman, Pride Seeds; Darrell Dziver, BrettYoung Seeds; Wayne Gale, Stokes Seeds Limited; Bruce Harrison, Crop Production Services Canada; Bob Hart, Sevita International; Duane Johnson, Syngenta Canada; George Lammertsen, Bayer CropScience; Brian Nadeau, Nadeau Seeds; Roger Rotariu, NuFarm; Ellen Sparry, C&M Seeds; Marty Vermey, Dow Seeds; and Jim Schweigert, the American Seed Trade Association representative.