New Executives Join Alberta Wheat Board

by | Feb 1, 2021 | Business, Industry News

While Todd Hames will continue to serve as chair of the Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) board, Jason Saunders has become the vice-chair and Greg Sears second vice-chair during AWC’s online annual general meeting, the group says in a news release on Jan. 29.

“I am honoured and appreciative for the board’s support in me serving as chair for a second year,” Hames says in the news release. “Given the uncertainties that arose in 2020, I am pleased with how the commission managed to navigate the pandemic. I foresee another eventful year for AWC starting with the current Canada Grain Act consultations.”
Saunders replaces Hannah Konschuh as vice-chair who served in the role for two years, the release notes. Saunders will be entering his fifth year serving on the AWC board of directors. 
“I am excited to join the AWC executive and step into my new role as vice-chair,” Saunders who farms in the Taber, Alta. area, says in the release. “During my years on the board, I have witnessed AWC grow to be a strong influence in agriculture policy. I look forward to AWC further advancing Alberta farmers’ interests on key policy, government relations and market access issues.” 
Konschuh is still an AWC board member, along with a Cereals Canada board member, the release notes. Shawn Jacula, from Vermillion, Alta. also joined the board.