Alberta Pulse Elects New Board Chair Robert Semeniuk

by | Jan 29, 2021 | Business, Industry News

Robert Semeniuk of Smokey Lake, Alta. has been elected the new board chair for the Alberta Pulse Growers Commission (APG), the group says in a news release on Jan. 28.

Semeniuk was elected at APG’s annual meeting this week. He takes over from Don Shepert of St. Brides, Alta., who becomes past chair. Semeniuk previously served as vice-chair.

“I’m looking forward to continuing the great work this board has started under Don’s leadership to maximize opportunities for Alberta’s pulse farmers,” Semeniuk says in the release. “Beans, peas, lentils, chickpeas and soybeans have a fantastic sustainability, economic and health story to tell. I’m looking forward to sharing news about more successes in the near future.”

New vice-chair is Chris Allam of Ardrossan, Alta. New board members are Kevin Auch from Carmangay, Alta. and Shane Strydhorst from Neerlandia, Alta. Outgoing directors are Kelisha Archer and Dan Visser.