Alberta Pulse Growers now a member of Soy Canada

by | May 16, 2018 | News

The Alberta Pulse Growers Commission (APG) recently became a member of Soy Canada to reflect the increased interest Alberta producers have in growing soybeans.

According to APG chair D’Arcy Hilgartner, APG has been observing on the sideline the development and evolution of Soy Canada.

“As our growers begin to see the opportunity that new genetics provides in their area for soybean production, we want to be on top of the industry challenges and opportunities,” he says. “Soy Canada will take care of the greater issues around market access, market development and is a policy voice for the soybean industry. We look forward to participating as a member of the organization.”

Soy Canada is the national association uniting all groups driving the Canadian soybean industry, from farm to marketplace.

“Committed plant science companies and innovative producers have been key partners as Canadian soybean production has expanded from one to eight provinces in a single generation,” said Ron Davidson, executive director of Soy Canada. “Soy Canada is very pleased to welcome Alberta Pulse Growers and its members as important new and valued participants in the national voice of this country’s soybean sector.”

Soybeans are expected to be planted on 6.5 million acres in Canada this year with acreage in Alberta increasing to 21,000. Canadian farmers are on track to reach the industry target of 10 million acres by 2027.

Soybeans are included under APG’s purview and, therefore, levy collected when soybeans are sold to Alberta dealers goes to APG. The organization then uses the levy to support agronomy, research, extension, marketing and other activities to benefit soybean growers as it does for the growers of peas, beans, faba beans, lentils and chickpeas.

Current soybean research projects supported by APG include work on identifying promising genotypes and optimizing seeding density, nitrogen fixation and irrigation for cost-effective soybean production in Alberta.