AWC Calls For Nominations Of Farm Leaders To Join Board Of Directors And Regional Representatives

by | Sep 17, 2019 | Business, News

The Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC) is now accepting nominations for farm leaders in Regions 1 and 5. Positions open for nomination include, two directors and three regional representatives in Region 1 in southern Alberta to the US border, as well as two directors and three regional representatives in Region 5 in northwestern Alberta, including the Peace River region.

Elected directors and regional representatives will be leaders providing strategic direction to AWC on behalf of wheat producers in Alberta. Farmers are encouraged to nominate peers who would be adept at representing producers in their region, as well as working with AWC’s management team throughout the year.

“Farmers who want to represent growers in their area and contribute to leading our industry forward should submit a nomination form,” said Gary Stanford AWC chair. “I have had the privilege of being part of AWC’s board of directors since its inception and I am extremely proud of AWC’s work. There are numerous facets that affect farmers beyond the farm-gate. Through AWC you can contribute and have an influence on your industry.”

Nomination forms can be downloaded on our elections page and must be returned in writing to the AWC office by Friday, November 1, 2019 by fax (403-717-1966), email at [email protected] or mail (200-6815, 8 St NE, Calgary, AB, T2E7H7). Producers in Region 1 and 5 will also receive a package in the mail with more information and a nomination form.

Elections for Region 1 will take place at the Region 1 meeting in Lethbridge and Region 5 elections will take place at the Region 5 meetings located in Barrhead and Falher. Regional meeting information can be found on our events page.

More information about nomination requirements, the roles of directors and regional representatives and regional meeting dates can be found on the governance page. A region map can be found here.

Source: The Alberta Wheat Commission